ATAP re-elects Mal. Dahiru as ASUP Chairman

By Abubakar muhammadu

The Abubakar Tatari Ali Polytechnic (ATAP) chapter of the Academic staff union of Polytechnics (ASUP) Bauchi has re-elected Malam Dahiru Musa Abdullahi to run its affairs as Chairman.

Malam Dahiru was alongside other elected officials of the union in an election that took place at the ASUP Secretariat in the polytechnic on Monday 18th July, 2022.

Announcing the results, the Chairman Electoral Committee of the (ASUP) ATAP chapter, Saleh Ibrahim Musa Abdullahi pointed out that Dahiru Musa Abdullahi from school of General studies polled 174 votes to defeat Saidu Ali from Public Administration who got 122 votes.

Also, the vice chairman of the Union’s chapter, Rabiu Ibrahim from the department of Science Laboratory and Technology (SLT) was returned re-elected after defeating Jimoh A. Abdulrahman from department of Electrical engineering.

Other winners include were, Dr. Ibrahim Abubakar from department of Accountancy and taxation as the Secretary General, Nazif Abba Pali from mass communication department as the Assistant Secretary General, Auwal Abdullahi from Estate management as the Financial Secretary and Dr. Umar Mohammed Jalam from vocational Education as the Treasurer.

The rest are, Habibu Sule from school of General studies as the Publicity Secretary, Baba Hussaini from General studies as the Welfare Officer, as well as Mahmood Saidu Badara from Computer Science as an Internal Auditor.

In his acceptance speech, the re-elected Chairman of the union, Mal. Dahiru M. Abdullahi expressed delight over the conduct of the exercise.

He promised to carry everyone along as well as justify the confidence reposed in him, adding that he would continue from where he stopped to enable him record more successes for the union.

Highlights of the event was the swearing-in ceremony of the newly elected leaders of the union as well as group photographs.

Leave a Reply